Universities Eligible

Zain Africa Challenge is open to all universities in Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia meeting the following criteria:

  1. All public universities
  2. All private universities in possession of a Charter or an Act of Parliament
  3. All private universities in possession of a Certificate of Provisional Registration or a Provisional License or a Letter of Interim Authority
  4. Enrollment of 250 undergraduate bachelors degree students (or more)
  5. Third year of intake (or more)

Based on the above criteria, we solicited a list of eligible universities from the Ministries of Education and the IUCEA.

The 16 universities selected by the National Universities Commission (NUC) are inclusive and representative of: regional distribution, institutional academic stature, public and private universities, religiously affiliated and non-sectarian universities. The universities in Nigeria which qualified for the International Championship Festival (ICF) in 2009 were automatically selected. Therefore, for the 2010 season there were 11 new universities selected..

The resulting list of eligible universities is:

University City Website
Ashesi University Accra www.ashesi.edu.gh
Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration Accra www.gimpa.edu.gh
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology  Kumasi www.knust.edu.gh
University for Development Studies Tamale www.uds.edu.gh
University of Cape Coast  Cape Coast www.ucc.edu.gh
University of Education, Winneba  Winneba www.uew.edu.gh
University of Ghana  Legon www.ug.edu.gh
University of Mines and Technology Tarkwa www.umat.edu.gh
University for Development Studies Tamale www.uds.edu.gh
Valley View University  Oyibi www.vvu.edu.gh
University City Website
Africa Nazarene University  Nairobi www.anu.ac.ke
Catholic University of Eastern Africa  Nairobi www.cuea.edu
Daystar University  Nairobi www.daystar.ac.ke
Egerton University  Njoro www.egerton.ac.ke
Great Lakes University of Kisumu Kisumu www.gluk.ac.ke
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture & Tech.  Nairobi www.jkuat.ac.ke
Kabarak University  Nakuru www.kabarak.ac.ke
Kenya Methodist University  Meru www.kemu.ac.ke
Kenyatta University  Nairobi www.ku.ac.ke
Maseno University  Maseno www.mu.ac.ke/maseno/maseno.htm
Masinde Muliro University of Science and Tech.  Kakamega www.must.ac.ke
Moi University  Eldoret www.mu.ac.ke
Pan Africa Christian University  Nairobi www.pacuniversity.com
Scott Theological College  Machakos www.scott.ac.ke
St Paul's University  Limuru www.stpaulslimuru.ac.ke
Strathmore University  Nairobi www.strathmore.edu
United States International University  Nairobi www.usiu.ac.ke
University of Eastern Africa, Baraton Baraton www.ueab.ac.ke
University of Nairobi  Nairobi www.uonbi.ac.ke
University City Website
Catholic University Limbe www.cunima.net
Malawi Adventist University Ntcheu  
Mzuzu University  Mzuzu www.mzuni.ac.mw
University of Livingstonia Livingstonia www.ulivingstonia.org
University of Malawi  Zomba www.unima.mw
University City Website
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi www.atbunet.org
Ahmadu Bello University Zaria www.abu.edu.ng
Ambrose Alli University Ekpoma www.aauekpoma.edu.ng
Bowen University Iow www.bowenuniversity-edu.org
Federal University of Technology Akure www.futa.edu.ng
Federal University of Technology Owerri www.futoeduportal.com
Niger Delta Unversity Yenogoa www.ndu.edu.ng
Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife www.oauife.edu.ng
Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina www.umyu.edu.ng
University of Abuja Gwagwalada www.unibuja.edu.ng
University of Calabar Calabar www.unical.edu.ng
University of Ibadan Ibadan www.ui.edu.ng
University of Jos Jos www.unijos.edu.ng
University of Lagos Lagos www.unilag.edu.ng
University of Maiduguri Maiduguri www.unimaid.edu.ng
University of Nigeria Nsukka www.unn.edu.ng
Sierra Leone
University City Website
Njala University College  Freetown www.nu-online.com
University of Sierra Leone  Freetown www.fbcusl.8k.com
University City Website
Ardhi University  Dar es Salaam www.uclas.ac.tz
Hubert Kairuki Memorial University  Dar es Salaam www.hkmu.ac.tz
International Medical & Tech. University  Dar es Salaam www.imtu.edu
Mount Meru University  Arusha www.mmu.ac.tz
Muhimbili University of Health Science  Dar es Salaam www.muchs.ac.tz
Mzumbe University  Mzumbe www.mzumbe.ac.tz
Sokoine University of Agriculture  Morogoro www.suanet.ac.tz
St. Augustine University of Tanzania  Mwanza www.saut.ac.tz
St John's University of Tanzania Dodoma www.sjut.ac.tz
Teofilo Kisanji University Mbeya www.teku.ac.tz
The Open University of Tanzania  Dar es Salaam www.tanzania.go.tz/out.html
The State University of Zanzibar Zanzibar www.suza.ac.tz
Tumaini University-Moshi  Iringa www.elct.org/tumaini.html
Tumaini University-Dar es Salaam  Dar es Salaam www.tumainidsm.ac.tz
University of Arusha  Arusha www.universityofarusha.ac.tz
University of Dar es Salaam  Dar es Salaam www.udsm.ac.tz
University of Dodoma  Dodoma www.udom.ac.tz
Zanzibar University  Zanzibar www.zanvarsity.ac.tz
University City Website
Bishop Stuart University Mbarara www.bsu.ac.ug
Bugema University  Kampala www.bugemauniv.ac.ug
Busoga University  Iganga www.busogauniversity.ac.ug
Gulu University Gulu www.guluniv.ac.ug
Islamic University in Uganda Kampala www.iuiu.ac.ug
Kabale University Kikungiri Hill www.kabaleuniversity.ac.ug
Kampala International University  Kampala www.kiu.ac.ug
Kampala University  Kampala www.kampalauniversity.net
Kumi University Kumi www.kumiuniversity.org
Kyambogo University  Kampala www.kyambogo.ac.ug
Lugazi University Lugazi www.lugaziuniversity.ac.ug
Makerere University  Kampala www.makerere.ac.ug
Makerere University Business School  Kampala www.mubs.ac.ug
Mbarara University of Science & Tech.  Mbarara www.must.ac.ug
Mutesa 1 Royal University Kirumba-Masaka www.buganda.or.ug
Mountains of the Moon University Fort Portal www.mmu.ac.ug
Ndejje University  Ndejje www.ndejjeuniversity.ac.ug
Nkumba University  Entebbe www.nkumbauniversity.ac.ug
Uganda Christian University  Mukono www.ucu.ac.ug
Uganda Martyrs University  Nkozi www.fiuc.org/umu
Uganda Pentecostal University Kabarole  
University City Website
Cavendish University in Zambia  Lusaka www.cavendishza.org
Copperbelt University  Kitwe www.cbu.edu.zm
Copperstone University  Kitwe  
University of Zambia  Lusaka www.unza.zm
Zambia Adventist University  Monze www.tagnet.org/zau
Zambian Open University  Lusaka www.zambianopenuniversity.ac.zm

Click to check the status of which universities have qualified for the National Qualifying Tournaments.

For questions regarding the list of universities above, please email annemarie@africachallenge.com or call us at +254 20 221 3203.


Copyright © 2008. Africa Challenge Productions Ltd - All Rights Reserved

Copyright © 2011. Africa Challenge Productions Ltd - All Rights Reserved